Archive of ‘library programs’ category

More information on the books for our book club!

Our youth book club begins Sept. 17 at 1 pm. Click here for the original post. I wanted to describe the books a bit more, including Accelerated Reader information.

  

The first book we’ll be reading is Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. This is book 1 in the series (the 2nd book, Sapphique, is also available) and will be released as a movie in 2013. Taylor Lautner (Jacob from the Twilight movies) will be playing main character Finn.

Incarceron is a science fiction, dystopian novel that has been praised by critics, including School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews. Fans of The Hunger Games, Matched and The Maze Runner will enjoy this action-packed and suspenseful read.

Here’s the synopsis from the publisher:


Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has always been a prisoner here. Although he has no memory of his childhood, he is sure he came from Outside. His link to the Outside, his chance to break free, is Claudia, the warden’s daughter, herself determined to escape an arranged marriage. They are up against impossible odds, but one thing looms above all: Incarceron itself is alive…

Accelerated Reader lists Incarceron as a 4.6 reading level for grades 6 and up, and is worth 14.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The next book we’ll be reading is The Invention of Hugo Cabret: A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick, which won the Caldecott Medal in 2008. This book will also be released as a movie, entitled Hugo and directed by Martin Scorsese. It is due in theaters Nov. 23, 2011.

The New York Times cited The Invention of Hugo Cabret as “wonderful” and that “the result is a captivating work of fiction that young readers with a taste for complex plots and a touch of magic, think Harry H., not Harry P., can love.”

Here’s the synposis:

Orphan Hugo Cabret lives in a wall. His secret home is etched out in the crevices of a busy Paris train station. Part-time clock keeper, part-time thief, he leads a life of quiet routine until he gets involved with an eccentric, bookish young girl and an angry old man who runs a toy booth in the station. The Invention of Hugo Cabret unfolds its cryptic, magical story in a format that blends elements of picture book, novel, graphic novel, and film. Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Brian Selznick has fashioned an intricate puzzle story that binds the reader like a mesmerist’s spell.

AR lists Hugo Cabret as a level 5.1 for middle grades (4-8), and is worth 4.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

In January and February we will be reading the winner of the 2011 Newbery Medal, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool. This richly detailed novel is both a coming-of-age story and enjoyable historical fiction read.

The Kirkus Starred Review:

“When 12-year-old Abilene jumps off the train in Manifest, Kan., in 1936 to stay with her father’s boyhood friend, little does she know her sojourn will take her back, via mesmerizing tales, newspaper clippings, curious mementoes and World War I letters, to Manifest as it was in 1918—and into the life of the mysterious boy nicknamed Jinx. This young con man effected extraordinary change in the lives of the mostly immigrant residents and the fortunes of the mining town in that year. Abilene and readers get so caught up in the past in this richly detailed, splendidly written novel that they easily make the transition between the Depression and WWI eras and long to learn more about the town that once was. Readers will love guessing how Abilene’s dad fits into all the stories and townspeople’s memories. The absolute necessity of story as a way to redemption and healing past wounds is at the heart of this beautiful debut, and readers will cherish every word up to the heartbreaking yet hopeful and deeply gratifying ending.”

 

AR lists Moon Over Manifest at level 5.3 for middle grades (4-8) and 12.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

To celebrate the March 2012 release of The Hunger Games movie, we will be reading the book in February and March. If you are not already familiar with this exciting trilogy, come join the craze! And for those who’ve already read the series, meet with us to discuss the book and what you’re excited to see on the big screen.

AR cites The Hunger Games as a 5.3 level for middle grades plus (grades 6 and up) and is worth 15.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The book for the Spring 2012 sessions has not yet been determined. I’d like to let YOU decide, so let me know your picks! Please contact me, Ashley, at 270-442-2510 ext. 122 or aadair@mclib.net if you have any questions or comments. I look forward to seeing you Sept. 17!

 

 

 

2011 Summer Reading Program starts tomorrow!

Monday, June 6 marks the first day in the 2011 Summer Reading Program. The tween/teen program is the first to start with the book club at 1 pm – join other readers for a chance to discuss your favorite books. Stick around for the next program at 2 pm –  you get the chance to make your very own didgeridoo!

The children’s program starts Tuesday with Kentucky Down Under presenting 3 shows at 10 am, 1 pm, and 3 pm. Can’t make it Tuesday? They’ll be back Wednesday for 3 more shows! We hear they’re bringing a kangaroo!

And don’t forget to participate in the Summer Reading Challenge! Kids aged 5-10 get a free backpack filled with coupons to Kentucky attractions once they fill out their reading form with 10 books they’ve read.

Those aged 11-17 participate in the tween/teen summer challenge – just fill out your reading passport with 6 books you’ve read for your free book bag and a chance to win a Sony e-reader! Then check out the international photo display in nonfiction - identify each photo and be entered to win a Flip video camera!

 

Flip video camera

 

 

 

 

Visit our website for the full lineup of performers and events. Click here for the children’s program and click here for the tween/teen program.

 

We hope to see you soon!

 

 

Spring Break activities at the library

Join us for a week of fun activities for Spring Break!

Monday, April 4
1 pm
Teen/Tween Program
Space program: “Create a Comet”
A hands-on science experiment to illustrate how comets are formed.
Ages 10-17

Tuesday, April 5
10 am and 1 pm
Wheels of Freestyle, Inc. presents “Just Say Yes!” to LIFE, GOALS & DREAMS! This is a BMX bikes high flying stunt show! Come see The Wheels of Freestyle perform amazing bicycle stunts. Outside in the parking lot at the library. Spon-sored in part by BikeWorld, Paducah. In case of inclement weather , these programs will be moved to the Oscar Cross Boys and Girls Club. All ages welcome!

Wednesday, April 6
1 pm
Teen/Tween Program
Do-it-yourself [Not so Wimpy] Diaries. Come and create your own personalized journal book to use as a diary, notepad or scrap book!
Ages 10-17

Thursday, April 7
Noon to 8 pm
Game day at the library- come play board games, Wii, or Dance, Dance Revolu-tion! Games will be out from 12 pm to 8 pm on the second floor of the library. All ages welcome.

Friday. April 8
2 pm
Hot Wheel Races! Come get a Hot Wheel car* and race for a trophy!
Ages 5 and up.
Children under 12 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
*First come first served, while supplies last.

You can also find the schedule at our website (click here), and at West Kentucky Star (click here).