Archive of ‘book club’ category

American Girl Book Club!

american girl book club kaya

 

Kaya

Kaya

The library’s first American Girl Book Club was on Saturday, March 30, 2013. We’ll be highlighting each girl in historical order, so Native American Kaya was the focus of the first meeting. Nine girls met to discuss Kaya and the Native American life, particularly as the Nez Perce, Kaya’s tribe, would have experienced it in the Pacific Northwest in 1764. We talked about what food Kaya would have eaten, what she did for fun, how the Nez Perce Indians traveled, and how Kaya learned living in an Indian community. Each girl made a bear claw necklace with colorful beads. We then snacked on dried fruits and nuts while talking more about the life of a Native American in the 18th century. The girls had a great time and each one had wonderful insight to add to the discussion.

 

Felicity

Felicity

The next American Girl Book Club will be Saturday, April 27, 2013, at 3 pm in the 2nd floor Meeting Room. We’ll be discussing Felicity, a colonial girl from 1774. Hope to see you there!

Join us this Saturday for the book club!

      

Our youth book club will begin Saturday, Sept. 17 at 1 pm. We will meet 1 Saturday a month at 1 pm for 1 hour to read & discuss recent young adult books. Refreshments will be provided as well!

Here is the book lineup:

Sept. 17 & Oct. 15, 2011- Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (to be made into a movie for a 2013 release date!)

Oct. 15 & Nov. 12,  2011 – The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (this Caldecott winner was made into a movie by Martin Scorsese, to be released Nov. 23, 2011)

Jan. 7 & Feb. 4, 2012 – Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool (2011 Newbery Award Winner)

Feb 4. & Mar. 3, 2012 – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (the first movie in this exciting trilogy will be released Mar. 23, 2012)

March & April, 2012 – TBA (I’ll let YOU decide!)

Click here to view more information on each book, including AR level.

Hope to see you there!

More information on the books for our book club!

Our youth book club begins Sept. 17 at 1 pm. Click here for the original post. I wanted to describe the books a bit more, including Accelerated Reader information.

  

The first book we’ll be reading is Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. This is book 1 in the series (the 2nd book, Sapphique, is also available) and will be released as a movie in 2013. Taylor Lautner (Jacob from the Twilight movies) will be playing main character Finn.

Incarceron is a science fiction, dystopian novel that has been praised by critics, including School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews. Fans of The Hunger Games, Matched and The Maze Runner will enjoy this action-packed and suspenseful read.

Here’s the synopsis from the publisher:


Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has always been a prisoner here. Although he has no memory of his childhood, he is sure he came from Outside. His link to the Outside, his chance to break free, is Claudia, the warden’s daughter, herself determined to escape an arranged marriage. They are up against impossible odds, but one thing looms above all: Incarceron itself is alive…

Accelerated Reader lists Incarceron as a 4.6 reading level for grades 6 and up, and is worth 14.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The next book we’ll be reading is The Invention of Hugo Cabret: A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick, which won the Caldecott Medal in 2008. This book will also be released as a movie, entitled Hugo and directed by Martin Scorsese. It is due in theaters Nov. 23, 2011.

The New York Times cited The Invention of Hugo Cabret as “wonderful” and that “the result is a captivating work of fiction that young readers with a taste for complex plots and a touch of magic, think Harry H., not Harry P., can love.”

Here’s the synposis:

Orphan Hugo Cabret lives in a wall. His secret home is etched out in the crevices of a busy Paris train station. Part-time clock keeper, part-time thief, he leads a life of quiet routine until he gets involved with an eccentric, bookish young girl and an angry old man who runs a toy booth in the station. The Invention of Hugo Cabret unfolds its cryptic, magical story in a format that blends elements of picture book, novel, graphic novel, and film. Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Brian Selznick has fashioned an intricate puzzle story that binds the reader like a mesmerist’s spell.

AR lists Hugo Cabret as a level 5.1 for middle grades (4-8), and is worth 4.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

In January and February we will be reading the winner of the 2011 Newbery Medal, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool. This richly detailed novel is both a coming-of-age story and enjoyable historical fiction read.

The Kirkus Starred Review:

“When 12-year-old Abilene jumps off the train in Manifest, Kan., in 1936 to stay with her father’s boyhood friend, little does she know her sojourn will take her back, via mesmerizing tales, newspaper clippings, curious mementoes and World War I letters, to Manifest as it was in 1918—and into the life of the mysterious boy nicknamed Jinx. This young con man effected extraordinary change in the lives of the mostly immigrant residents and the fortunes of the mining town in that year. Abilene and readers get so caught up in the past in this richly detailed, splendidly written novel that they easily make the transition between the Depression and WWI eras and long to learn more about the town that once was. Readers will love guessing how Abilene’s dad fits into all the stories and townspeople’s memories. The absolute necessity of story as a way to redemption and healing past wounds is at the heart of this beautiful debut, and readers will cherish every word up to the heartbreaking yet hopeful and deeply gratifying ending.”

 

AR lists Moon Over Manifest at level 5.3 for middle grades (4-8) and 12.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

To celebrate the March 2012 release of The Hunger Games movie, we will be reading the book in February and March. If you are not already familiar with this exciting trilogy, come join the craze! And for those who’ve already read the series, meet with us to discuss the book and what you’re excited to see on the big screen.

AR cites The Hunger Games as a 5.3 level for middle grades plus (grades 6 and up) and is worth 15.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The book for the Spring 2012 sessions has not yet been determined. I’d like to let YOU decide, so let me know your picks! Please contact me, Ashley, at 270-442-2510 ext. 122 or aadair@mclib.net if you have any questions or comments. I look forward to seeing you Sept. 17!

 

 

 

Book Club begins September 17!

      

Our youth book club will begin Saturday, Sept. 17 at 1 pm. We will meet 1 Saturday a month at 1 pm for 1 hour to read & discuss recent young adult books. Refreshments will be provided as well!

Here is the book lineup:

Sept. 17 & Oct. 15, 2011- Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (to be made into a movie for a 2013 release date!)

Oct. 15 & Nov. 12,  2011 – The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (this Caldecott winner was made into a movie by Martin Scorsese, to be released Nov. 23, 2011)

Jan. 7 & Feb. 4, 2012 – Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool (2011 Newbery Award Winner)

Feb 4. & Mar. 3, 2012 – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (the first movie in this exciting trilogy will be released Mar. 23, 2012)

March & April, 2012 – TBA (I’ll let YOU decide!)

I hope to see you next month, on Sept. 17 at 1 pm! 

Skype with author Kathleen Duey today at 1 pm!

Our final summer book club session is today, Monday, July 11 at 1 pm. We’re concluding with a special program – a live video chat via Skype with award-winning author Kathleen Duey!

Kathleen is the author of many popular series for kids & teens, including Faeries’ Promise, Hoofbeats, & Resurrection of Magic. Her novel Skin Hunger (book 1 in Resurrection of Magic) was nominated for the prestigious National Book Award in 2007.

Join us for this wonderful opportunity on Monday, July 11  at 1 pm! We’ll also have autographed books (signed by an author of a super popular series) & other gifts!

Skype with author Kathleen Duey!

Our final summer book club session will be this Monday, July 11 at 1 pm. We’re concluding with a special program – a live video chat via Skype with award-winning author Kathleen Duey!

Kathleen is the author of many popular series for kids & teens, including Faeries’ Promise, Hoofbeats, & Resurrection of Magic. Her novel Skin Hunger (book 1 in Resurrection of Magic) was nominated for the prestigious National Book Award in 2007.

Join us for this wonderful opportunity on Monday, July 11  at 1 pm! We’ll also have autographed books (signed by an author of a super popular series) & other gifts!

Talk with author Jessica Burkhart today!

Today is our first author video chat via Skype with Jessica Burkhart. Ms. Burkhart is offering us 1 hour of her time to answer questions, talk about her books (the popular series Canterwood Crest), and discuss the process of writing and getting published.

Please stop by the 2nd floor Conference Room today at 1 pm for this exciting author chat!

Our first author Skype chat is coming up!

On Monday, June 27, the youth book club will have its first author video chat via Skype with Jessica Burkhart. Ms. Burkhart is offering us 1 hour of her time to answer questions, talk about her books (the popular series Canterwood Crest), and discuss the process of writing and getting published.

This Monday’s book club will be devoted to preparing our questions and learning more about Ms. Burkhart. Please stop by the 2nd floor Conference Room at 1 pm to help us get ready for this exciting author chat! Activities and snacks are also planned, so I hope to see you on Monday!

And make sure you come on June 27 from 1-2 pm so you can get the chance to talk to Jessica Burkhart!

 

1 2