Archive of ‘Suzanne Collins’ category

Catching Fire

catching-fire-book-movie

On Sunday, April 27th, Join Kimberly Russell from West Kentucky Community and Technical College for Read to Reel! This month’s book/movie is Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Test your trivia skills and win prizes! Starts at 2PM.

 

Test your knowledge here to prepare!

http://www.goodreads.com/quizzes/1897-catching-fire-quiz

 

More information on the books for our book club!

Our youth book club begins Sept. 17 at 1 pm. Click here for the original post. I wanted to describe the books a bit more, including Accelerated Reader information.

  

The first book we’ll be reading is Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. This is book 1 in the series (the 2nd book, Sapphique, is also available) and will be released as a movie in 2013. Taylor Lautner (Jacob from the Twilight movies) will be playing main character Finn.

Incarceron is a science fiction, dystopian novel that has been praised by critics, including School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews. Fans of The Hunger Games, Matched and The Maze Runner will enjoy this action-packed and suspenseful read.

Here’s the synopsis from the publisher:


Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has always been a prisoner here. Although he has no memory of his childhood, he is sure he came from Outside. His link to the Outside, his chance to break free, is Claudia, the warden’s daughter, herself determined to escape an arranged marriage. They are up against impossible odds, but one thing looms above all: Incarceron itself is alive…

Accelerated Reader lists Incarceron as a 4.6 reading level for grades 6 and up, and is worth 14.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The next book we’ll be reading is The Invention of Hugo Cabret: A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick, which won the Caldecott Medal in 2008. This book will also be released as a movie, entitled Hugo and directed by Martin Scorsese. It is due in theaters Nov. 23, 2011.

The New York Times cited The Invention of Hugo Cabret as “wonderful” and that “the result is a captivating work of fiction that young readers with a taste for complex plots and a touch of magic, think Harry H., not Harry P., can love.”

Here’s the synposis:

Orphan Hugo Cabret lives in a wall. His secret home is etched out in the crevices of a busy Paris train station. Part-time clock keeper, part-time thief, he leads a life of quiet routine until he gets involved with an eccentric, bookish young girl and an angry old man who runs a toy booth in the station. The Invention of Hugo Cabret unfolds its cryptic, magical story in a format that blends elements of picture book, novel, graphic novel, and film. Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Brian Selznick has fashioned an intricate puzzle story that binds the reader like a mesmerist’s spell.

AR lists Hugo Cabret as a level 5.1 for middle grades (4-8), and is worth 4.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

In January and February we will be reading the winner of the 2011 Newbery Medal, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool. This richly detailed novel is both a coming-of-age story and enjoyable historical fiction read.

The Kirkus Starred Review:

“When 12-year-old Abilene jumps off the train in Manifest, Kan., in 1936 to stay with her father’s boyhood friend, little does she know her sojourn will take her back, via mesmerizing tales, newspaper clippings, curious mementoes and World War I letters, to Manifest as it was in 1918—and into the life of the mysterious boy nicknamed Jinx. This young con man effected extraordinary change in the lives of the mostly immigrant residents and the fortunes of the mining town in that year. Abilene and readers get so caught up in the past in this richly detailed, splendidly written novel that they easily make the transition between the Depression and WWI eras and long to learn more about the town that once was. Readers will love guessing how Abilene’s dad fits into all the stories and townspeople’s memories. The absolute necessity of story as a way to redemption and healing past wounds is at the heart of this beautiful debut, and readers will cherish every word up to the heartbreaking yet hopeful and deeply gratifying ending.”

 

AR lists Moon Over Manifest at level 5.3 for middle grades (4-8) and 12.0 points.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

To celebrate the March 2012 release of The Hunger Games movie, we will be reading the book in February and March. If you are not already familiar with this exciting trilogy, come join the craze! And for those who’ve already read the series, meet with us to discuss the book and what you’re excited to see on the big screen.

AR cites The Hunger Games as a 5.3 level for middle grades plus (grades 6 and up) and is worth 15.0 points.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The book for the Spring 2012 sessions has not yet been determined. I’d like to let YOU decide, so let me know your picks! Please contact me, Ashley, at 270-442-2510 ext. 122 or aadair@mclib.net if you have any questions or comments. I look forward to seeing you Sept. 17!

 

 

 

The Hunger Games movie cast!

All 24 tributes have finally been cast in the the movie adaptation of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games. You can view the complete list on the movie’s official Facebook page. Other noteable new additions to the cast include Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy, Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman, Wes Bentley as Seneca CraneElizabeth Banks as Effie Trinket, and Paula Malcomson as Mrs. Everdeen (Katniss’ mother).

Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy

Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman

Wes Bentley as Seneca Crane

Elizabeth Banks as Effie Trinket

Paula Malcomson as Mrs. Everdeen


The movie should start filming very soon, with an expected theater release date of March 23, 2012. All tributes from the 12 districts have already started training together in preparation of the grueling tasks required in the Hunger Games.
We’re still waiting for casting announcements on the roles of Finnick Odair, Cinna, and a few more of the supporting cast. To keep up with the Hunger Games casting news, check out their official Facebook page and Twitter!

In case you missed them – recent posts

Hunger Games movie casting news!

The books that almost won (a spotlight on the Newbery honor books)

The “other” book awards (award winning books that didn’t win the Newbery or Caldecott)

Mystery? Adventure? International art scandal? Yes, please! (Blue Balliett’s smart mystery series for middle readers)

Shhh…The Name of This Book is Secret (another fun series for ages 9-12 by Pseudonymous Bosch)

Love history? Read historical fiction! (a list of historical fiction for middle school and high school readers)

Hunger Games movie casting news!

The hugely popular Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins is being made into a movie, set for release on March 23,  2012. Several of the characters have already been cast, including tough heroine Katniss Everdeen, who is to be played by Kentucky’s very own Jennifer Lawrence.

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss

Peeta and Gale were recently announced as well, with newcomers Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth slated to play the two male leads.

Liam Hemsworth as Gale

Josh Hutcherson as Peeta

Another young newcomer was just announced today – Willow Shields has been selected to play Prim, younger sister of Katniss.

Willow Shields as Prim

The tributes from Districts 1 and 11 have also been cast. Check out the Official Hunger Games Movie Facebook Page and Twitter to catch the latest casting news! (It looks like Haymitch and Effie Trinket are the next characters to be announced!)

Are you happy with the choices so far? Sound off in the comments! And if you’re late to the Hunger Games craze, check out all three books at the library today!